Pi Tau Sigma (PTS), the International Mechanical Engineering Honor Society, and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), each year, jointly offer three prestigious awards to recognize outstanding individuals for achievements in Mechanical Engineering. These awards are the Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal Award, the Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award, and the Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award. A description on the rules for each award can be found in the three linked documents below.

Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal Award      Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award      Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award

If you are planning to nominate a candidate for any of these these prestigious awards, please read he nomination instructions and fill the nomination form.


This year's award recipients for the three awards are:

  • Dr. Jesse Capecelatro, University of Michigan,  2019 Gold Medal Award
  • Dr. Yong Zhu, North Carolina State University,  2019 Gustus L. Larson Award
  • Dr. Pradeep Sharma, University of Houston,  2019 Charles Russ Richards Award 

The three nominees will be recognized at the Awards Banquet on Saturday, February 1, 2020 at the International Pi Tau Sigma convention in Rochester, NY.

You may see the past award winners by clicking on the History tab and scrolling down.