Pi Tau Sigma (PTS), the International Mechanical Engineering Honor Society, and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), each year, jointly offer three prestigious awards to recognize outstanding individuals for achievements in Mechanical Engineering. These awards are the Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal Award, the Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award, and the Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award. A description on the rules for each award can be found in the three linked documents below.

Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal Award      Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award      Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award

If you are planning to nominate a candidate for any of these these prestigious awards, please read and fill the Nomination Instructions and Form.


This year's award recipients for the three awards are:

  • Dr. David Kwabi, University of Michigan,  2020 Gold Medal Award
  • Dr. Yuri Bazilevs, Brown University,  2020 Gustus L. Larson Award
  • Dr. Katepalli R. Sreenivasan, New York University,  2020 Charles Russ Richards Award 

Dr. Kwabi will be recognized on Monday November 16, 2020 during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition (IMECE), at the Oregon Convention Center, in Portland, Oregon. Details regarding the award presentations for Dr. Brazilevs and Sreenivasan will be announced at a later date.

You may see the past award winners in the History content on the Home page.